Wait when page loaded

Anna Biavati-Smith
wordstepsslt@gmail.com

Click on the owl icon to read the full review

Some reviews from Google and Facebook

  • review rating 5  I can't speak highly enough of Anna and her work. Non only my daughter's issue with speaking is now a memory, but all the process has been a great experience for her. She loved her sessions, she loved the homework Anna gave her and she has felt supported throughout all the therapy. Anna is a loving caring therapist, and her professionalism is second to none. I can only highly recommend Anna!

    thumb Simona Manca
    6/16/2019

    review rating 5  I cannot speak highly enough of Anna! As parents we were feeling fairly deflated in our approach and frustrated with Other professionals regarding our sons speech delay and clarity of speech. We have attended therapy on and off for approx 6months with Anna. What we have learnt has been invaluable and what my son has achieved in this time is truely heartwarming. It has been hard work but with so many ways to play and stimulate our son he has rarely objected and even enjoys the games/activities! Anna thinks outside the box and truely “knows” her clients so that she knows how to get the best from them. Her professionalism and experience is second to none, she empowers parents and really connects with children. She is also a genuinely lovely person. My only regret is that we never met sooner! A fantastic experience.

    thumb Pierce Matthews
    5/28/2019

    review rating 5  Thank you for the excellent training in SM which was relevant and empowering as Anna really got across with energy and enthusiasm that we can make a difference. Since the training I have been able to put the strategies into practice and spread the knowledge and information on SM to pupils, parents, fellow teachers and professionals. We realise that making a positive difference is a long drawn out process but it is heartening being armed with some strategies and understanding into the condition. I particularly found it useful chatting to other parents, teachers and professionals and one recovered adult who suffered from SM as a child. Thanks again!

    thumb Mrs Bregazzi
    5/16/2019

    review rating 5  I attended a course about SM run by Anna of Word Steps Speech & Language Therapy. This was an eye-opening day for me. Anna shared her extensive experience with the group in an engaging and very positive way. Her recommendations for useful books for my child, and for me, were excellent.

    thumb Suzanne Mattison
    5/11/2019

    review rating 5  The inverness training day was a great success and it was really nice meeting other parents going through the exact same experience as myself.

    thumb Eilanna MacRae
    5/10/2019

    review rating 5  Anna lead the training in Inverness, I came to the course half way through the day so I felt like I missed the most important parts. I took away from the course a hangout that was clear and helpful. I've not long learnt about SM and I'm grateful for doing this training as a mother and a childminder.

    thumb Catherine Delacy
    5/10/2019

    review rating 5  Anna has been a great support professionally. I reached out to her for specialist clinical supervision and she responded very efficiently. We were able to have a telephone call (due to distance) which helped so much. Anna provided resources and shared her highly specialist knowledge about Selective Mutism. She put me at ease and encouraged me to ask questions to support the case I was working on. Thank you very much! Charmaine

    thumb Charmaine Tearle
    1/14/2019

    review rating 5  Anna was such a great help to my son. She was very approachable and took things at my son's pace. My husband and I valued all the tips and suggestions she made to help us. She made the sessions fun, varied and interactive for my son. Thank you so much.

    thumb Denise Claxton
    1/02/2019

    review rating 5  Anna is a passionate professional and expert in the area of selective mutism and we can't thank her enough for the invaluable advice and support she gave us with our daughter. We have a much greater understanding of how to best support our daughter and we know that should we require any more help and support that Anna is there for us. Thank you!

    thumb Julia Fenton
    12/31/2018

    review rating 5  WOW! What an amazing training session. Our staff has just spent an engaging and interactive hour listening to Anna help us become more aware and have a deeper understanding of selective mutism. She is truly inspiring and has such a depth of knowledge. She was able, very simply and eloquently, to explain the journey of someone with this condition and we all left feeling that we, as educators were better equipped to deal with associated problems. Thank you once again Anna.

    thumb Melanie Caldwell
    12/07/2018

    review rating 5  I asked Anna to conduct an English assessment ending with a report. I brought my daughter to Anna's clinic at her home. it was a great session, my daughter interacted with Anna perfectly well and Anna was perfectly able to manage with my three years old daughter. I am perfectly fine with the report that Anna wrote and find her recommendations very useful and helpful to improve my daughter English language. If you are reading this review probably you need a certified language therapist, I would strongly recommend Anna to you. Thank you Anna 🙂

    thumb Tamer Soliman
    11/05/2018

    review rating 5  What a wonderful woman who has energy drive and commitment to ensure that people who have SM are heard

    thumb Liz Ferguson
    9/07/2018

    review rating 5  Very highly recommended, Anna is clearly an expert in her field and gave our daughter a thorough assessment, we were glad to have contacted her.

    thumb Liz Elsby
    6/11/2018

    review rating 5  Anna is not only a really experienced and knowledgeable language therapist, but she is also superb with kids. She worked with my daughter, who has Developmental Language Disorder (DLD) fairly intensively over a 6 month period. During this time Anna helped her really improve her communication skills and also massively increased her confidence, helping her to come out of her shell. I don't know what we would have done without her support. Another bonus for us has been that Anna is aware of the difficulties faced by bilingual children, but also what is not related to a child growing up with more than one language. It was so nice to meet someone who didn't just think that our daughter being slow to speak (she was around 4 at their first meeting) was due to her growing up bilingual! I can not recommend Anna strongly enough.

    thumb Flora Mackie
    1/10/2018

    review rating 5  My 9 year old son had a lateral lisp and struggled with ‘Th’ sounds. Anna worked with him over six sessions which were fun and interesting and provided exercises for us to continue with between her visits. We have seen a huge improvement with his speech and my son is much more confident and happier. I am so glad we contacted Anna for help and I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending her.

    thumb Carol Harte
    11/30/2017
  • review rating 5  Anna helped my son Marco from about the age of 3.5 till about 5 years old. She has been an absolute life saver, amazing with the wee one and superb at explaining to me and husband how to best support his needs. We are raising our children as multilingual, and as her own experiences were an absolute godsend. In addition to being a very knowledgeable professional Anna is also an amazing person. Can not recommend her ability and services high enough.

    thumb Spiridoula Athanasiadou
    11/16/2017

    review rating 5  Our 3 year old boy suffered from a severe speech disorder where he was not able to be understood by anyone but his closest family making him retreat from people. Anna was able to quickly recognise the problem, offer a course of treatment and advise how to liaise with the NHS and Nursary Staff to maximise his opportunities for help. Anna has a high energy approach that really gets the kids involved and brings you along too. I highly recommend her, she has turned a somewhat despairing situation around and allowed a little boy to really come out and show himself to be the rascal he should be.

    thumb Steve Scott
    11/13/2017

    review rating 5  Anna provided a course of speech therapy to our 4 year old daughter Savannah who was born profoundly deaf and wears cochlear implants. Anna was very professional and conducted the initial assessment which highlighted the areas of focus. During the course, we observed improvements in Savannah's speech and by the end of the course it was clear that she had benefitted. Anna developed a good relationship with Savannah and was able to get the best out of her, even at her young age. Thanks Anna

    thumb Renato Invernizzi
    9/11/2017

    review rating 5  I cannot recommend Anna highly enough. She helped my son who did not speak to any adult in school until p3, to gain confidence and he is now in p5 and able to approach the teacher and initiate speech. Anna worked with my son at his pace, she gently gained his confidence through play, starting in the environment he felt comfortable in – home, and then progressed onto working with him at school. Through the work that Anna did with him he can now speak to children in his class that he didn’t talk to for the first 3 years and he can also approach teachers to tell them if something is wrong. Anna is very knowledgeable about the psychology underlying the problem and works to increase self esteem. She really engages with the children and gets on their level and she has a wonderful energy and charisma.

    thumb angry cookie
    9/09/2017

    review rating 5  Anna is a wonderful speech therapist. She met with my daughter three times to work on her tongue thrust and she made so much progress in such a short period. She made learning and practicing the sounds fun through games and stories. My daughter looked forward to every session and was disappointed when they stopped. She speaks to children in a very direct and non-condescending way and gave helpful hints on how to work on sounds at home. Highly recommend her services!

    thumb Tara Lynch
    9/08/2017

    review rating 5  Anna worked with my son before and just after he started school and the results were fantastic. He now has lovely clear speech and we are so grateful. Anna was friendly and put him at ease right away. The therapy was all based around games and fun exercises and Anna took the time to teach us how to continue the therapy with our son between appointments in order to get the best results. I would highly recommend Word Steps

    thumb catriona anderson
    9/06/2017

    review rating 5  Anna has been a great support professionally. I reached out to her for specialist clinical supervision and she responded very efficiently. We were able to have a telephone call (due to distance) which helped so much. Anna provided resources and shared her highly specialist knowledge about Selective Mutism. She put me at ease and encouraged me to ask questions to support the case I was working on. Thank you very much! Charmaine

    thumb Charmaine Tearle
    1/14/2019

    review rating 5  Anna was such a great help to my son. She was very approachable and took things at my son's pace. My husband and I valued all the tips and suggestions she made to help us. She made the sessions fun, varied and interactive for my son. Thank you so much.

    thumb Denise Claxton
    1/02/2019

    review rating 5  Anna is a passionate professional and expert in the area of selective mutism and we can't thank her enough for the invaluable advice and support she gave us with our daughter. We have a much greater understanding of how to best support our daughter and we know that should we require any more help and support that Anna is there for us. Thank you!

    thumb Julia Fenton
    12/31/2018

    review rating 5  WOW! What an amazing training session. Our staff has just spent an engaging and interactive hour listening to Anna help us become more aware and have a deeper understanding of selective mutism. She is truly inspiring and has such a depth of knowledge. She was able, very simply and eloquently, to explain the journey of someone with this condition and we all left feeling that we, as educators were better equipped to deal with associated problems. Thank you once again Anna.

    thumb Melanie Caldwell
    12/07/2018

    review rating 5  I asked Anna to conduct an English assessment ending with a report. I brought my daughter to Anna's clinic at her home. it was a great session, my daughter interacted with Anna perfectly well and Anna was perfectly able to manage with my three years old daughter. I am perfectly fine with the report that Anna wrote and find her recommendations very useful and helpful to improve my daughter English language. If you are reading this review probably you need a certified language therapist, I would strongly recommend Anna to you. Thank you Anna 🙂

    thumb Tamer Soliman
    11/05/2018

    review rating 5  What a wonderful woman who has energy drive and commitment to ensure that people who have SM are heard

    thumb Liz Ferguson
    9/07/2018

    review rating 5  Very highly recommended, Anna is clearly an expert in her field and gave our daughter a thorough assessment, we were glad to have contacted her.

    thumb Liz Elsby
    6/11/2018

    review rating 5  Anna is not only a really experienced and knowledgeable language therapist, but she is also superb with kids. She worked with my daughter, who has Developmental Language Disorder (DLD) fairly intensively over a 6 month period. During this time Anna helped her really improve her communication skills and also massively increased her confidence, helping her to come out of her shell. I don't know what we would have done without her support. Another bonus for us has been that Anna is aware of the difficulties faced by bilingual children, but also what is not related to a child growing up with more than one language. It was so nice to meet someone who didn't just think that our daughter being slow to speak (she was around 4 at their first meeting) was due to her growing up bilingual! I can not recommend Anna strongly enough.

    thumb Flora Mackie
    1/10/2018

    review rating 5  My 9 year old son had a lateral lisp and struggled with ‘Th’ sounds. Anna worked with him over six sessions which were fun and interesting and provided exercises for us to continue with between her visits. We have seen a huge improvement with his speech and my son is much more confident and happier. I am so glad we contacted Anna for help and I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending her.

    thumb Carol Harte
    11/30/2017